Friendship

 

Recently I lost a very dear friend.  She was seldom happier than when she was in her garden.

I have written this poem for her.

 

Frankie’s garden

 

As I walk round her garden

Frankie is with me

She is there in the whispering grass

And the poppies growing so free

Last year, I said, the earth was bare

And now the flowers have grown

Last year, she said, I was still here

But now you are alone

A robin came to say hello

We wanted him to stay

He sang a song and then was gone

Like me he’s flown away, she said

Like me he’s flown away.

grass pic

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Andrea Neidle, My Life in Poems

 

 

4 Comments on “Friendship”

  1. tomrains says:

    I truly believe we can immortalize our loved ones with our tributes to them. Lovely 🙂

  2. Such a lovely beautifully crafted poem and a lovely tribute to your friend
    Love Brian


Leave a Reply

