Home

I am home from school

I open the unlocked back door

and step in from the sunshine

The house smells of all things good

Mum I’m home

I call out up the stairs

It is 1958

and the ones I love have yet to die

Nothing shakes my world

My life is calm, solid, safe

I have yet to have my heart broken

or woken from nightmares

I have yet to see

people jumping hand in hand

from burning towers

No suicide bombers

haunt my dreams

I am surrounded by love

Goodnight, sleep tight

Sweet dreams

Mum, I’m home.

© Andrea Neidle, My Life in Poems

2 Comments on “Home”

  1. Brian Tucker says:

    hi Andrea a lovely thought provoking poem so well thought out terrific love Brian

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. valerie berry says:

    Thanks Andrea!

    Valerie


Leave a Reply

