Memorial

March 6 

It has come round again.

It is Friday night

And I light the Sabbath candles

in the candlesticks

that once belonged to her

It has come round again.

I remember her voice

her smile, her kiss

When I hold our grandchildren

I wonder

was she like this with me

It has come round again.

None of us can remember

those first years

No film to help us

No one to ask

They have all gone

I know that I was loved

And that has to do.

It has come round again.

Our memorial candles

are all used up

And we hunt one down in Tesco

Now the Yahrzeit candle can be lit

Now she can be remembered

As if I ever forget

Me at 15 months with my mother

© Andrea Neidle, My Life in Poems

2 Comments on “Memorial”

  1. Irene Dougherty says:

    Dear Andrea,
    Thank you for your beautiful poem.
    With love,
    Irene


Leave a Reply

