Old Life, New Life

Old Life, New Life

My daughter was fifteen

When my mother died

She never knew her as a woman

Or saw her as a bride.

Eighteen years have passed

The years have all flown

My hair has turned grey

Our children have grown.

When I see a perfect flower

Or a bud upon the tree

I think about my mother

And the life she gave to me.

Me at 15 months with my mother

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Andrea Neidle, My Life in Poems

11 Comments on “Old Life, New Life”

  1. This is such a fitting and beautiful tribute for your mom, Andrea.

  2. rsvendsen07 says:

    Your poems are so beautiful and moving. You have great talent.

    • You are very kind! I write about the things that move me. Everyday things – family life, relationships, birth, death etc. As you have seen from “about” I have been writing since I was a little girl. Having a blog gives me a real incentive to write. Since starting “My Life in Poems” I find that I am writing more poetry than ever. It’s great to know that there are people like you out there who enjoy them and find the time to post such lovely comments. Thank you!

  3. Irene Dougherty says:

    Dear Andrea

    A beautiful poem and of course it made me cry. Lovely photo as well!

    Thank you.
    Irene

  4. Andrea,such a lovely poem,just terrific
    Well done
    Brian


Leave a Reply

