The days of our lives

Two items caught my interest on the news today.

We are told that we are all living for far longer. Apparently, every year another year is added to our life span.

On the other hand,  a report has forecast that the number of people in the UK who will get cancer during their lifetime will increase to nearly half the population by 2020.

So, we are living longer. But because we are living longer we are far more likely to get cancer!

In the same news bulletin, 92 year old Prince Philip was admitted to hospital for surgery. 92! What amazing longevity there is in the Royal family.

That led me to thinking of some of the elderly people I have met over the years. One memorable time was when I was reading my poems to an audience at The Poetry Society. I noticed an elderly gentleman sitting  in the front row, leaning forward, with his hand around his ear. Afterwards he came up to me  and said, “I couldn’t hear a word but I loved the vibrations!”

Or the old gentleman I once befriended at a London tube station.

Old Man

It’s no fun to be old

said the old old man

on the Metropolitan line

Eighty two I am

and still working

We took the train together

Hiss into the station

Off along the platform

Up up the weary stairs

A grey haired stranger

took his arm

An old man helping an old man

It’s no fun  to be old

We paused on the platform

for him to take breath

You going, he said

I won’t see you again

He grasped my hand

I kissed his cheek

It felt like death.

Now, here am I, steadily getting older. Not feeling it of course. But getting older nevertheless. As of course we all are.  I find myself looking back to a past when the days were longer, sunnier and all of life was in front of me.  And I am reminded of  the lyrics of one of my favourite Queen songs, “These are the days of our lives.”**

Sometimes I get the feelin’
I was back in the old days – long ago
When we were kids when we were young
Things seemed so perfect – you know
The days were endless we were crazy we were young
The sun was always shinin’ – we just lived for fun
Sometimes it seems like lately – I just don’t know
The rest of my life’s been just a show

Those were the days of our lives
The bad things in life were so few
Those days are all gone now but one thing is true
When I look and I find I still love you

You can’t turn back the clock you can’t turn back the tide
Ain’t that a shame
I’d like to go back one time on a roller coaster ride
When life was just a game
No use in sitting and thinkin’ on what you did
When you can lay back and enjoy it through your kids
Sometimes it seems like lately – I just don’t know
Better sit back and go with the flow

Cos these are the days of our lives
They’ve flown in the swiftness of time
These days are all gone now but some things remain
When I look and I find no change

Those were the days of our lives – yeah
The bad things in life were so few
Those days are all gone now but one thing’s still true
When I look and I find
I still love you

I still love you

**Words and music by Queen

© Andrea Neidle, My Life in Poems

One Comment on “The days of our lives”

  1. Brian Tucker says:

    Hi Andrea Very nice post and poem. Brian


Leave a Reply

