Maurice Sendak

Just heard that Maurice Sendak, the children’s writer and illustrator has died.  I feel as if I have lost a friend.

I always enjoyed reading his books to my children and am looking forward to doing the same with our grandchildren.

Recently I started going to art classes. One of the first things I did was to make this mixed media collage, based on one of the illustrations from, “Where the wild things are.”

What do you think? Do you like it? If so, please let me know – it will encourage me to do more!

 

© Andrea Neidle, My Life in Poems

2 Comments on “Maurice Sendak”

  1. mickey silverstein says:

    Hi Andrea,
    I just read your new shoes poem and thought a child would really enjoy it, as did I. This picture absolutely evokes Sendak. I felt I had lost a friend, too.
    Mickey

  2. Brian says:

    Hi Andrea
    Such a clever idea
    I loved it when you showed me it and I think it a fine tribute too
    You have great ideas and execution
    Brian


Leave a Reply

