New Life

New Life

I haven’t watched my girl sleeping

Since she was newborn

And I stayed awake all night

Checking she was still breathing

Now I sit watching my sleeping grandson

His tiny chest pumping up and down

His skin so translucent and fine

I can see every vein

His mother lies

curled up

in the foetal position

Breathing in unison

Their lives are fused together.

In a moment they will awaken

And their new life will begin.

21/9/11

new life

© Andrea Neidle, My Life in Poems

One Comment on “New Life”


Leave a Reply

