“A poet can survive everything but a misprint.”

So said Oscar Wilde.

This poet has been conspicuous by her absence recently.

Readers, I have not been well.

I had a serious fall about a month ago which has made it difficult for me to use the keyboard for more than a few minutes.

That’s why these pages have been empty for so long.  I hope you have missed me.

I hope to return soon to blogging my life in poems.  In the meantime, here are some of my favourite quotes to keep you (and me) ticking over until I am back to my old self.

Poetry is just the evidence of life.  If your life is burning well, poetry is just the ash.  Leonard Cohen

Poetry is a deal of joy and pain and wonder, with a dash of the dictionary.  Kahlil Gibran

There’s no money in poetry, but then there’s no poetry in money, either.  Robert Graves

A poem begins with a lump in the throat.  Robert Frost     

 Poetry is the language in which man explores his own amazement.  Christopher Fry

A poet’s autobiography is his poetry.  Anything else is just a footnote.  Yevgeny Yentushenko

 

© Andrea Neidle, My Life in Poems

One Comment on ““A poet can survive everything but a misprint.””

  1. Bill Grimke-Drayton says:

    The quotes are so true!! Hope you get back on your feet soon!


Leave a Reply

