Motherhood

You give birth and overnight your life changes. Now there’s someone else who’s always going  to come first with you.  For the rest of your life.  Even when your kids are grown up, barely a day goes by when you don’t think of them.

Here are some poems I’ve written about the parent/child relationship.

I wrote this first one after the birth of our daughter.

Hannah Sleeping                               

  I watch my child asleep in bed

What dreams can she be dreaming

The little sleepy head

I want to build a wall around her cot

Shield her from the world

Instead I tuck the blankets tight

And kiss my sleeping child goodnight

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When she got married last year, I wrote this:

I watch my child become a wife

What dreams will she be dreaming

For the rest of her sweet life

Their love will build a wall around their world

Around their lives

And as I take her hand in mine

I wish that I could rewind time.

I wrote this next poem in 1995, about six months before my mother died. 

 Role Reversal

Today, I held my mother

sobbing in my arms

Stroking her soft,  fine hair

Her chin nuzzled on my chest

And I could smell

the unforgotten fragrance

of her skin

I held her close

as I have held my children

and felt the frailty of her age

How odd and imperceptibly

the tables turn

And those that you have leaned on

lean on you

Those that you had turned to

turn to you

Now she is the child

And I am the mother

Yesterday (6 March) was 15 years to the day that my mother died.

  

I visited the grounds at Hoop Lane crematorium – as I do every year – where her ashes were scattered.

You might think that this is a depressing thing to do. But, at this time of the year, it is uplifting. There are thousands of crocuses as far as the eye can see.

For the first time ever, I had a go at writing a haiku.  This is a three line Japanese poem.  It must have five syllables in the first line, seven in the second and five in the third, final line.

Remembrance

Scattered crocuses

Ashes scattered on the grass:

Scattered memories

 

© Andrea Neidle. My Life in Poems

5 Comments on “Motherhood”

  1. Irene Dougherty says:

    Andrea,such wonderful poems. The moving poem written 6 months before your Mother died made me cry thinking of my Father as he is now. It’s so sad but also so very true. Hannah sleeping, is also wonderful. I don’t think there is a Mother in the world who has not had the same thoughts about their children.

    • Thank you Irene. I really appreciate your comments. It’s hard to see one’s parents growing older and more frail especially so if they are facing a terminal illness. I find that writing about these things helps me. The poems are not always written at the time – they sometimes come quite a while after the event. Getting feedback such as yours is really motivating – so thank you for taking the time to write it.

  2. Barbara says:

    Andrea, I had no idea you were so very talented. Your poems are poignant, sad and humorous all at the same time. In fact, very human. Congratulations on starting your blog. Looking forward to reading more.
    With love, Barbara xx

  3. Hannah says:

    I just want to say that I find these poems incredibly moving and absolutely beautiful.

    Much love Hannah xxx


Leave a Reply

